Great Expectations

Posted: March 18, 2013 in CSA, Food and Cooking, Organic
Tags: , ,

DSCN8045

Here is what is predicted to be in our CSA box this week and what we plan to do with it.

3 apples
2 mangos
4 oranges
5 pears
3 lbs. tangerines
cilantro
dill
arugula
1lb baby carrots
celery
chard
garlic
lettuce
mizuna
mustard greens
3 lbs. yellow onions
1 lb. red peppers
3 lbs. russett potatoes
radishes
grape tomatoes
cauliflower

From this I expect to make chili, cauliflower-pepper soup, celery soup, carrot cake, sauteed radishes, candied citrus peels and several salads. I’ll have enough onions and garlic to add them to many things like stew, roast and chicken. I don’t particularly like muzuna in a salad but it works well in soup or chopped up and added to potatoes. Nobody in my house likes cilantro so I will give that away.

Yesterday I decided to just “wing it” and clean out the fridge. I cooked 1 lb of ground beef with chopped up green onions, garlic, and red and orange peppers that I already had chopped up in a container in the fridge. I melted in some grated parmesan cheese and served it with leftover noodles. It look 10 minutes tops and everyone loved it. Yum.

I keep several small containers of pre-chopped garlic, onion, and peppers in the fridge and toss them into pasta, omelets and anything else that sounds tasty. It’s a great time saver to do this once per week and have it all ready to go.

Leave a Reply

